Research for a future worth living

Department Life Cycle Engineering – GaBi

Decision support in the life cycle of innovative products and technologies - identifying risks and highlighting opportunities

The research field of the department includes ecological, socio-economic as well as technical analysis and optimization from process to product. The sustainability studies connect the built and the natural environment with each other: From the provision of energy, the production of materials, the recovery and recycling of high-quality material flows to the mobility, construction and living of today, tomorrow and the day after tomorrow.
Research work covers a wide range of topics such as novel mobility concepts, renewable energy sources and energy storage, bio-based materials, functionally integrated materials and components, circular economy, resource efficiency and lightweight construction, land use and biodiversity.

Our Fields of Activity and Research Topics

Arbeitsgebiet Energie und Mobilität

Energy and Mobility

Life cycle assessment analyses and development of methods for environmentally friendly product development with a focus on renewable power generation, energy supply and storage systems, synthetic fuels from renewable energies, internal combustion engine and electrified drive and vehicle concepts, battery and fuel cell technologies.

Go to page

Arbeitsgebiet Werkstoffe und Produktsysteme

Materials and Product Systems

Life cycle assessment and environmentally friendly product development with focus on innovative research and development in the fields of adaptive envelopes and structures, renewable resources, plastics and composites, packaging systems, recycling and energy cost sensitivity of materials.

Go to page

Arbeitsgebiet Nachhaltiges Bauen

Sustainable Building

Sustainability analyses and assessment tools at all levels of construction with a focus on building products, building elements and building systems, buildings and structures, quarters and cities.

Go to page

Forschungsthemen der Abteilung Ganzheitliche Bilanzierung

Our Research Topics

New technologies, ever more complex processes and value-added chains, and constant social and global change are creating new framework conditions that require further scientific thinking and rethinking.

Go to page

Contact and Directions

We are located in the STEP-Engineering Park.

Go to page

Lectures

In the module "Life Cycle Assessment and Sustainability" we offer lectures and exercises on holistic balancing.

Lehrveranstaltungen

Go to page

To the top of the page

Forschung für eine lebenswerte Zukunft

Abteilung Ganzheitliche Bilanzierung – GaBi

Entscheidungsunterstützung im Lebenszyklus für innovative Produkte und Technologien – Risiken identifizieren und Chancen aufzeigen

Der Forschungsbereich der Abteilung umfasst die ökologische, sozioökonomische sowie technische Analyse und Optimierung vom Prozess bis zum Produkt. Die Nachhaltigkeitsuntersuchungen schlagen eine Brücke zwischen der gebauten und der natürlichen Umwelt: Von der Energiebereitstellung, der Herstellung von Werkstoffen, über die Rückgewinnung und Kreislaufführung hochwertiger Stoffströme bis hin zu Mobilität, Bauen und Wohnen von heute, morgen und übermorgen.
Forschungsarbeiten decken hierbei vielfältige Themenfelder wie neuartige Mobilitätskonzepte, regenerative Energieträger und Energiespeicherung, biobasierte Materialien, funktionsintegrierte Materialien und Bauteile, Circular Economy, Ressourceneffizienz und Leichtbau, Landnutzung und Biodiversität ab.

Unsere Arbeitsgebiete und Forschungsthemen

Arbeitsgebiet Energie und Mobilität (c) pixabay/Pexels

Arbeitsgebiet Energie und Mobilität

Ökobilanzanalysen und Methodenentwicklung für die umweltgerechte Produktentwicklung mit den Schwerpunkten regenerative Stromerzeugung, Energiebereitstellung und -speichersysteme, synthetische Kraftstoffe aus erneuerbaren Energien, verbrennungsmotorische und elektrifizierte Antriebs- und Fahrzeugkonzepte, Batterie- und Brennstoffzellentechnologien.

Zur Seite

Arbeitsgebiet Werkstoffe und Produktsysteme (c) pixabay/scholty1970

Arbeitsgebiet Werkstoffe und Produktsysteme

Ökobilanzierung und umweltgerechte Produktentwicklung mit Fokus auf innovative Forschung und Entwicklung in den Bereichen Adaptive Hüllen und Strukturen, Nachwachsende Rohstoffe, Kunst- und Verbundwerkstoffe, Verpackungssysteme, Recycling und Energiekostensensitivität von Werkstoffen.

Zur Seite

Arbeitsgebiet Nachhaltiges Bauen (c) pixabay/Usinglight

Arbeitsgebiet Nachhaltiges Bauen

Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen und Bewertungsinstrumente auf sämtlichen Ebenen des Bauens mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Bauprodukte, Bauelemente und Bausysteme, Gebäude und Bauwerke, Quartiere und Städte.

Zur Seite

Forschungsthemen der Abteilung Ganzheitliche Bilanzierung  (c) pixabay/artistlike

Unsere Forschungsthemen

Neue Technologien, immer komplexere Prozesse und Wertschöpfungsketten sowie der stetige gesellschaftliche und globale Wandel geben neue Rahmenbedingungen vor, die ein wissenschaftliches Weiterdenken und Umdenken erfordern.

Zur Seite

Kontakt und Anfahrtsbeschreibung

Unsere Räumlichkeiten befinden sich im STEP-Engineering Park.

zur Seite

Lehrveranstaltungen

Im Modul „Ökobilanz und Nachhaltigkeit“ bieten wir Vorlesungen und Übungen zur Ganzheitlichen Bilanzierung an.

Lehrveranstaltungen (c) pixabay/jarmoluk

Zur Seite